What's Happening

Education Seminar

Membership Renewal


2021 A Virtual CE Seminar

Be prepared for the March 15, 2021 tax deadline. Join us virtual via Zoom on January 31 from 10am to 1pm. SignUp Now.

The State of Pharmacy

Ernestine Watson, Pharm D, President of the Pharmaceutical Society of Jamaica, delivers a lecture on "The State of Pharmacy" at the Cari-Med, Apotex Continuing Education Seminar at the Jamaica Pegasus on November 3, 2019.

The Mission

Promote health and to serve society as the profession responsible for the safe use of medication, pharmaceutical devices and services towards a desired therapeutic end. The organization has been served by a succession of dedicated and committed presidents and through the years its members have worked assiduously in many areas:


It spearheaded the establishment of a School of Pharmacy at the College of Arts, Science and Technology, (now the University of Technology) in 1961. This brought to an end the former apprenticeship system.


The Society established regional and international links, being admitted into the membership of similar organizations in Great Britain and other Commonwealth countries, the Caribbean and Latin America.


The PSJ negotiated through two political administrations, to ensure that pharmacists had large representation on the Pharmacy Council, formed in 1974, and which replaced the Drugs and Poisons Control Board.


It staged conventions during the 1960s and 1970s and put on Continuing Education Seminars, which are still held. The annual National Retreat, which began in 1990, has now become a focus point for pharmacists, as well as others in the industry.


The Society established a National Pharmacy Week Programme which brings to the public attention aspects of the pharmacy profession. It also allows pharmacists to educate the public on proper use of drugs.

Continuous Support

The Society seeks to inform and educate its members by hosting Continuing Education Seminars and our Annual Retreat held in June of each year. We also address issues of national importance as it relates to pharmaceuticals and the National Health Care Delivery Plan of the Government.

Recent Articles

Celebrating 90 Years (1928 - 2018)


Conference 2018 was held at the Montego Bay Conference Centre, St. James.


This years theme "Pharmacists: Engaging, Advocating, Collaborating with our Communities for a Healthier Jamaica".

Many Thanks

The PSJ thanks the sponsors, presenters and all who volunteered their time and talent in the planning and execution of this very successful conference.

Executive Team

The success of an organization is dependent on strong leadership.

Dr. Ernestine Watson

BPharm. (Hons); PharmD (Mag Cum Laude); RPh
Expertise: Pharmacy Management, Clinical Pharmacy, Research, Pharmacy Legislation, Academia
Hobbies/Passions: Exercising, Gardening , Interior decorating and Writing.

Dr. Michelle Russell

Bsc. History and Social Sciences; D.Pharm; PharmD; RPh
Expertise: Pharmacy Management, Clinical Pharmacy, Patient Care and Counselling
Hobbies/Passions: Writing poetry, Baking, Gardening, Photography

Dr. Andrea Daly

Bsc. Chemistry and Entomolgy, PharmD. ; RPh
Expertise: Academia, Diabetes Education and Managements, Womens Health
Hobbies/Passions: Gardening

Mrs. Keisha Barrett-Clarke

B.Pharm (Hons.); RPh
Expertise: Community Pharmacy and Patient Care
Hobbies/Passions: Reading and Swimming

Mrs. Christine Barnaby

Mr. Chavez Foster

B.Pharm; RPh
Expertise: Community Pharmacy
Hobbies/Passions: Service, Brand Development, Resting

Mr Livingston Burnett

BSc, BPharm, RPh
Expertise: Hospital Pharmacy, Regulatory Pharmacy, Pharmacy Legislation, Industrial Relations
Hobbies/Passions: Representing Workers' Rights, Playing the keyboard, piano, organ, badminton and dominoes, and watching television.

Miss Roxana Mullings

B.Pharm(Hons) ; RPh
Expertise: Community Pharmacy
Hobbies/Passions: Editorials, Sports, Binge watching television series and spending time with friends.

Dr. Winsome Christie

PhD, MClinPharm, MSc. BPharm, ND,VNMI, IIPA, RPh
Expertise: Clinical Pharmacist; Vitalistic Naturopathic Physician, integrating Alternative Medicine with Clinical Pharmacy practice (MTM), Lecturer and Researcher
Hobbies: playing the violin, piano, Dancing, playing tennis, just having a good time.

Dr. Josseth Royal-Morrison

Dr. Cameil Wilson-Clarke

B.Pharm; PharmD; MA.Teaching; PhD pending; RPh
Expertise: Academia, Clinical Pharmacy, Immunization, Bioethics and Clinical Trial Research
Hobbies: Reading, Cooking, Travelling

Mr. Okeeno McLeod

Miss. Thadeka Brown

Dr. Rose Victory Evans

DBAD. (Hons); BPharm. (Hons); PharmD; RPh
Expertise: : Clinical Pharmacy, Pharmacy Management, Research
Hobbies/Passions: : Writing, Gardening, Cooking, Public Speaking